HSLC Program

Participating in a program to achieve certification can help reduce injuries, reduce premiums and save lives. Contact us to start building your program today!

Our Hospitality Safety Leadership Certificate is designed to lead you (the employer) through the process of developing and implementing a health and safety management system, and to empower you to create a system and a corporate safety culture that will improve the way you do business!

Even if you aren’t in the hospitality industry this program is also available as a Health & Safety Leadership Certificate.

Requirements for each level build on the foundations of the previous levels, as you progress through the development of the program, you will achieve increased recognition and improved health and safety processes.

DID YOU KNOW? The average employer is paying 30% MORE than they need to be? 

What are the benefits of participating?

Financial Benefits
-Receive discounts through WCBs Experience Rate Discount Program for a good claims record
-Reduce the industry premium base rate
-Reduce your annual premiums
-Lower all the costs of workplace incidents.

Health Benefits
-Reduce the rate and duration of injuries by keeping your employees healthy and safe

-Increase staff participation and ownership of workplace health and safety

Employee Benefits
-Improve employee morale, productivity, and customer experience

-Create a culture of safety and injury prevention

We are here to help you step by step — we are your roadmap to safety!

The HSLC consists of 4 different levels:













Level 1 

Start the development of an effective OHS system by establishing management’s commitment to the process and taking a baseline measure of the organization’s health and safety culture.

Level 1 Application Form


Level 2 


Build the foundation of an OHS system by conducting the organization’s hazard assessments and identifying staff training needs.

Level 2 Application Form

Level 3 


Take the training needed to develop the systems required to control for the workplace hazards identified and maintain a health and safety management system for the organization.

  • Key employee(s) complete Emergency Response Planning training (3.5 hours).

  • Key employee(s) complete Workplace Inspections training (3.5 hours).

  • Key employee(s) complete Incident Reporting & Investigation training (4 hours).

  • Current General Manager (Senior Manager) completes the Health & Safety Leadership* training (4 hours).

  • Job-specific hazard training provided to 80% of all staff. Service Hospitality’s “Virtual Hotel” can be used for hospitality positions. Training must cover job-specific hazards as identified in the Formal Hazard Assessments completed in Level 2. 

  • The organization has completed a Safety Evaluation within the past 3 years.

  • The organization’s formal hazard assessments have been completed within the last year or reviewed within the last year.

  • The organization completed the required policies and procedures:

    • Workplace Inspections Policy

    • Organization-specific Inspection form(s) and report template(s)

    • Emergency Response Policy

    • Emergency Response Procedures

    • Incident Reporting and Investigation Policy(s)

    • Incident Reporting/ Incident Investigation Procedures

    • Incident Report form

    • Incident Investigation form

    • Harassment Policy

    • Harassment Procedures

    • Violence Policy

    • Violence Procedures

Level 3 Application Form


Level 4

Take the final step and conduct a Health & Safety Audit. 

Level 4 Application Form

Don’t delay, make the commitment today!


*The current most senior manager must have completed the Health & Safety Leadership training at all levels of certification.  The intent of this seminar is to expose senior management to training that will explain the importance of health and safety to their business.  It is designed to ensure senior managers understand their responsibilities for the safety of their workers, the repercussions of not meeting these responsibilities, and the basic systems they must implement.

** For all Level 2 & Level 3 training programs, key staff are required to attend.  This includes those who will be overseeing and/or carrying out the relevant function.  For example, for Workplace Inspections, those responsible for Inspections must complete the training.


HSLC Training Program

Level 1

Program Duration

Health & Safety Leadership*

4 hours

Your Safety Committee & the Law training

6 hours

Level 2

Program Duration

Hazard Assessment & Control**

5 hours

Qualifications, Orientation & Training

3.5 hours

Level 3

Program Duration

Emergency Response Planning

3.5 hours

Workplace Inspections

3.5 hours

Incident Reporting & Investigation

4 hours

Total Required Training

29.5 hours


Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap